News Article

Sports Awards 2018

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.


SU Sport, WSIHE Rangers, Sports Federation Committee and many others came together on Monday 23rd April for the Annual SU Sports Awards.  

Hosted at Reds Club at Butlins, Bognor Regis, the event saw the sporting student’s suited and booted to end the 2018 sporting season in style.  It was a night full of celebrating the sporting achievements of Chichester students and to honour both individuals and teams who have stood out during the course of the year.

Men's Rugby picked up the prestigious Club of the Year honour in the final accolade handed out at the University of Chichester 2017-2018 Sports Awards.

The event, hosted by the Sports Federation and Students' Union, was attended by over 350 athletes from clubs such as rowing, racquets and swimming, as well as distinguished guests and VIPs.



The Sports Federation works with over 25 clubs at the university that take part in competitive sport, recreational opportunities, campaigning and charity work. Many clubs compete in British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) leagues and cups and some of the honours recognised specific BUCS achievements.

Mixed golf’s BUCS Team of the Year award was well deserved as they had a spectacular BUCS season winning a league and cup double.



Women’s futsal were champions in the Premier South division and men’s table tennis picked up a consecutive league title going unbeaten again all season.

Women’s cricket, men’s tennis, men’s rugby union first team and men’s football sixes also won their leagues. The varsity team were ICC Southern champions.

Team, club and full colours were awarded to a number athletes and skier Zoe Karavasili received international colours.

The Fresher of the Year award went to Gemma Carter (women’s rugby and karate), Maddy Wright from women’s hockey and rugby picked up the SU Sports Personality of the Year award and Leanne Leach (trampolining) and Archie Holgate (adventure sport) received Unsung Hero of the Year awards.


Equestrian were Most Improved Club of the Year, with Most Improved Team of the Year going to women’s lacrosse. Ross Dewar from men’s rugby and netballer Megan Tubridy won Most Improved Player of the year awards

Emily McDonough from women’s football and trampolining won Sportswoman of the Year and men’s basketball’s Joshua Goddard was voted Sportsman of the Year.



Rugby player Ben Blewitt won the Contribution to Sport award and Rhianna Farr, Ella Veal and Adele Page received a Sports Federation Award of Excellence.

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience) Dr Mark Mason presented the awards alongside UCSU Sports Co-Ordinator Adam Sewell. Dr Mason said, “I'm so proud of our Sports Federation. Sport here is just like the university as a whole. We consistently exceed expectations. There’s an overwhelming sense of belonging to a vibrant and authentic community and this event exemplifies that.”



Speaking with Daisy Smale after the event, the Sports Federation President commented that  'I’m amazed by what the WSIHE community has accomplished throughout the year, both on and off the competition field. When we have such a large collective of students who are talented, dedicated and strive for success, it’s no surprise that we had so many nominations. The awards panel found it hard to distinguish between the high calibre nominee’s but despite there only being one winner and I hope everyone who received a nomination realises just how highly they or their club are regarded among their peers.' 



'As I end my time as President and reflect on this spectacular evening, I have to say that I am honestly enamoured and proud of every single individual and club who are involved of SU Sport. I can’t help but feel that the real winner is me for being given the opportunity to work alongside such a remarkable group of people and would like to thank everybody who has represented, coached, officiated and supported SU Sport this year.'


We'd like to thank Daisy and the rest of the Sports Federation Committee for all their hard work this season as well as our very own Sports Co-Ordinator Adam Sewell!  There's many people in and around the University who greatly contribute to the student eperience and make SU Sport such a success.  We'd like to thank you all for your hard work and dedication and we can't wait to see you again next season!



No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.